Research Excellence

Personalized Medicine

Chih-Ming Ho, IAS Visiting Professor and the Ben Rich-Lockheed Martin Chair Professor at the University of California at Los Angeles, has long been pursuing the systematic optimization of personalized treatment...


What AlphaGo’s Triumph Tells Us

IAS invited Prof Qiang Yang, New Bright Professor of Engineering and Chair Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at HKUST, to share his knowledge of and insights into AI and AlphaGo in an IAS Commons session...

IAS Community

IAS Members Conferred Named Professorships

We convey our heartiest congratulations to these three faculty members, who were bestowed with named professorships at the University's Third Inauguration Ceremony of Named Professorships...

Climate Change, Creativity and Quantum Computing

To celebrate its 25th anniversary, HKUST invited Nobel Laureates Prof Steven Chu and Prof Alan J Heeger, and winner of the Turing Award, Prof Andrew Yao, to share their wisdom and insights on climate change, creativity and quantum computing...

The Father of “Photonic Crystals” Receives the 2016 Buckley Prize

IAS Visiting Professor Eli Yablonovitch won the 2016 Oliver E Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize for his seminal achievements in solar cells and strained quantum well lasers, and for creating the field of photonic crystals, spanning both fundamental science and its practical applications....

Intellectual Hub

A Milestone for Wave Functional Materials

Nanjing / Hong Kong Bilateral Workshop on Wave Functional Materials

Apr 16-17

The Fractal Geometry of Nature

The 1st Hong Kong / Kyoto Workshop on Fractal Geometry and Related Areas

Mar 21-22

Fixing the World's Energy Crisis

2016 International Conference on Organic Photovoltaic Materials and Devices

Mar 5-7

Joining Forces for a New Research Era

IAS Focused Program on Casimir and van der Waals Physics: Progress and Prospects

Apr 25-28

Let the Music Speak

Hailed as “the city’s most innovative musical experience” by the Financial Times, the Intimacy of Creativity returned to HKUST for its sixth season this spring.

Sherring Ng, Linus See
Towni Lao
Contributing Staff
Nancy Pun, Prudence Wong,
Tsz Chun Chan, Betty Chau,
Eric Lin